2017 aQuelle Tour de Krantz

Saturday, 19 August

The aQuelle Tour de Krantz MTB Classic is a regular feature on the ROAG Series calendar and will be staged on Saturday, 19 August 2017 in Harburg, KZN. The 45km and 25km tracks have been tweaked and have been a rewarding challenge to riders for many years thanks to their variation, the single track encounters and unbelievable scenery! The 5km and 10km trail runs have proven equally popular as trail running continues to grow as a sport. Cyclists are encouraged to try out a combination of events and test their endurance. The German hospitality and catering will be available as always including the beer garden, ‘Kaffeestube’, farmers market and a craft market.


2016 Race Report

Report on the 2016 aQuelle Tour de Krantz
MTB Classic

The 2016 Harburg Tour de Krantz took place on Saturday 20 August 2016, amid some seriously misty conditions along the krantzes and forested areas. The conditions made the ride a little trickier than usual as riders had to keep a sharp eye out for track markers and directional changes on short notice. In addition to the mist, participants were faced with occasional patches of rain which created some muddy conditions in certain parts of the course. Organiser’s added a 5km trail to satisfy the growing demand for this activity by those who enjoy the outdoors but prefer a milder challenge.

Greg Pringle took the honours on the 10km Trail Run in a time of 49:33 followed by Grant Guerin and Glynn Allen in second and third respectively. Patricia Dammann finished strongly as the women’s winner and fourth overall in a time of 55:07. She was followed by Lorna Taylor and Tamara Sneyd. An increasing number of participants are taking on both a run and one of the cycling distances as the event provides a number of combinations for those up to the challenge.

Travis Walker produced the winning edge at this year’s TDK with a solid win in the 45km cycling event in a time of 01:50:37. He was involved in a sprint to the finish line with Matthew Wilkinson who followed him home by one second. In third place was last year’s winner Brendon Davids. Cherie Vale took the honours in the women’s section, winning the 45km race in a time of 02:03:32. She was followed in second place by Chriestie-Liegh Hearder and Frankie du Toit in third.

The highlight of the 25km event was the win by Sabine Thies who took overall first position in a time of 01:21:24, twenty six minutes ahead of second placed Natalie Sykes. Riley Smith took third place in a time of 01:48:06. First man home was Mitchel Potgieter in a time of 01:21:25. He was followed by Jason Botha and Trevor Densham in second and third respectively.

Funds raised at the aQuelle Tour de Krantz go towards charity work in the area under the guidance of the Harburg Neuenkirchen Congregation. The local community came out in force to support the event and to ensure its success. Our sincere thanks go out to all sponsors, but in particular aQuelle who once again supported the event as lead sponsor.

The organisers are constantly on the look-out for fresh ideas and enjoyable additions to the MTB and trail run experience and welcome any feedback which riders and runners may have. This is a unique opportunity to see a different part of KZN and we look forward to welcoming visitors and participants at next year’s event.